First Stage: Custom PCBs for Nintendo GameBoy Pocket Mod

Alessandro Faranda Gancio
4 min readMay 2, 2024

Intro

I’ve always been fascinated by the idea of modding classic consoles to breathe new life into them.

Fortunately enthusiasts are constantly pushing the boundaries of what’s possible with vintage consoles.

Recently, I stumbled upon a fantastic project on GitHub by the talented amateur developer, BucketMouse. This project involves creating a custom PCB to fit a Nintendo GameBoy Color within the shell of a GameBoy Pocket. Excited by the prospect of reviving my old GameBoy Pocket I embarked on this journey. I actually never had a GameBoy Color or Pocket when it was the time so I had it bought as well.

Getting into it

After stumbling upon BucketMouse’s GitHub project, which ingeniously adapts GameBoy Color CPU and other components into the compact shell of the GameBoy Pocket, I knew I had to give it a try. With the project files readily available, including the Gerber files for PCB fabrication.

I could have chosen of buying also the two PCB’s needed that are available in the store MouseBiteLabs but, I actually wanted to do it on my own so I turned to PCBWay for their manufacturing services.

Shopping List till now

  • Transparent GameBoy Pocket shell
  • GameBoy Color Pocket PCB
  • BucketMouse Power circuit PCB
  • SMDs component for the power board

These components are the ones I’ve initially bought for starting this project and lot more I’ll need to bring on my desk before actually starting the soldering.

PCBWay smooth and clear

The ordering process was smooth and straightforward, thanks to their user-friendly interface. I got the Gerber files and project from the public developer page on PCBWay, and specified my requirements, my order was placed in just a few click.

Note that doing this is just few clicks, but I read the whole BucketMouse github read-me’s for months before finally turning this maker project on the table.

Throughout the ordering process, PCBWay’s support team was readily available to address any inquiries. Even with technical guidance and clarifying design specifications since I’m such a newbie in this whole world, even passionate, I’ve never did something complex like that.

Unboxing Experiene

Who actually knows how to share that experience, I was so eager that I almost ripped out the package opening it.

The packaging was sturdy and well-organized, ensuring that my custom PCBs arrived in pristine condition. Opening the box revealed a set of professionally manufactured circuit boards, each bearing the intricate design necessary for the GameBoy Pocket modification. Each set of PCB’s ordered in a vacuum palstic bag.

The attention to detail was evident and inspecting the PCBs closely, I was impressed by the quality of craftsmanship. The solder mask was flawlessly applied, providing both protection and aesthetic appeal. The silk-screened labels were clear and legible. Overall, PCBWay delivered on their promise of superior construction, laying a solid foundation for the success of my project.

Said that, I’ll see you on the next asticle where I’ll start playing around with those PCB’s. Here all the necessary reference for this project.

Update

I’ve already been playing and trying and here it is how well the components will join the PCB lead. Let’s keep it posted for the full assembly.

--

--

Alessandro Faranda Gancio

Hi, I'm Alessandro, an Android Engineer with a passion for building high-quality applications. Follow me for insights and tips.